Dual podiums for Carlton Dry Honda Racing in Darwin



The Carlton Dry Honda Racing team have rounded out this weekend’s double-header round of Milwaukee presents the Terex Australian Supercross Championship at Darwin’s Hidden Valley Raceway with second place podium results for both Weston Peick and Gavin Faith.

Peick, who looked a lot more comfortable on board his CRF450 in Sunday’s round, got a good start in the Pro Open final and battled Kirk Gibbs for the lead over the open laps of the race.

The American took the race lead on Lap 5 and managed to keep championship leader Matt Moss at bay until Lap 10.

“We had a lot better day today,” Peick said, “We made a lot of changes to the bike for today and everything seemed to come together better.

“I got a good start and it helped to not be fighting from the back. The team is coming together I am starting to get more comfortable on the new bike.”

At the conclusion of the double-header round at Darwin’s Hidden Valley Raceway Peick sits third in the championship standings behind Matt and Jake Moss.

In the Pro Lites class Gavin Faith took his second podium of the weekend finishing second behind Luke Styke.

Styke and Faith will leave Darwin tied on championship points at the top of the standings. Faith admitted a lack of seat time probably cost him a better result today.

I got a pretty good start behind Styke but I struggled a little bit,” Faith said. ”I wasn’t quite used to the bike. I had a very short time on the bike and I struggled with arm-pump pretty bad.

“I am heading back to the US in between but I am looking forward to the next few rounds. We will regroup and I will come in a bit earlier so we can do some testing.”

The next round of Milwaukee presents the Terex Australian Supercross series will be held at Mt Gambier on October 12

Top Ten Terex Australian Supercross Championship Pro Open Results  – Rd 2, Darwin 

1. Matt MOSS
2. Weston PEICK
3. Jake MOSS
4. Kirk GIBBS
5. Daniel McCOY
7. Kade MOSIG
8. Josh HILL
9. Lawson BOPPING
10. Tim VARE

Top Ten Pro Open Championship Standings (after Rd 2 of 6)

1. Matt MOSS 50
2. Jake MOSS 42
3. Weston PEICK 36
4. Jay MARMONT 35
5. Kirk GIBBS 31
6. Daniel McCOY 31
7. Josh HILL 31
8. Lawson BOPPING 28
9. Kade MOSIG 26
10. Tim VARE 20

Top Ten Terex Australian Supercross Championship Pro Lites Results – Round 2, Darwin

1. Luke STYKE
2. Gavin FAITH
4. Luke ARBON
6. Dylan LONG
7. Kayne LAMONT
8. Nickolas SUTHERLAND
9. Taylor POTTER
10. Daniel McINNES

Top Ten Pro Lites Championship Standings (after Rd 2 of 6)

1. Luke STYKE 47
2. Gavin FAITH 47
3. Ryan MARMONT 38
4. Dylan LONG 35
5. Luke ARBON 34
6. Kale MAKEHAM 31
7. Kayne LAMONT 27
8. Nickolas SUTHERLAND 27
9. Taylor POTTER 24
10. Luke WILSON 21