Defending MX1 Champion Kirk Gibbs Wins at Broadford

MX1 Podium
MX1 Podium

The KTM rider claimed his first overall victory for the 2016 season.

By Hayden Gregory
MX1 Podium
MX1 Podium

Round three of the MX Nationals got underway in less than ideal conditions with a heavy night of rain hampering track conditions. In order to keep the track in its best possible shape the GoPro Superpole was removed from the program alongside qualifying with riders given positions based on championship standings.

The Thor MX1 class got underway with a holeshot to Coolair Motul Factory Suzuki’s Todd Waters followed closely by Kirk Gibbs, Kade Mosig and Jay Wilson.

After only two laps it was clear that both Waters and Gibbs were the pick of the riders making easy work of the difficult conditions. Behind the lead riders Kawasaki pair Matt Moss and Kade Mosig battled it out for third position with Moss eventually making the pass stick.

Out in front Waters pulled away to take an unchallenged stranglehold on the moto. The leading riders held down their positions for the remainder of the race with Waters taking the chequered flag ahead of Gibbs and Moss.

Championship leader Dean Ferris made an impressive run through the pack after an early mistake saw him fighting back in seventh place. The late charge saw Ferris move past Wilson, Metcalfe and Mosig to claim a much deserved fourth place.

In the second moto, Ferris found the front early taking an imposing lead after only one lap. Matt Moss was once again thereabouts in second while Gibbs trailed in third. It was an unfortunate start for NPE Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Kade Mosig who hit the dirt hard on lap two leaving the track with Racesafe officials in a serious but stable condition.

Moto one winner Todd Waters was determined to land a Broadford podium and was making his statement known as he charged through the pack into fourth position. Ferris continued to dominate out in front while Gibbs applied serious pressure to Moss with the Kawasaki rider eventually giving way.

As the chequered flag waved for the second time, championship leader Ferris collected another moto win but it was Kirk Gibbs who scored the round overall with an extremely consistent 2-2 result.

“The track was pretty tough and though it wasn’t too physical, it was pretty technical – you had to really be onto it,” Gibbs said. “You also had to get good starts and put yourself in really good positions, and I felt like I did that. My second start wasn’t quite as good, but I felt like I rode pretty solid and hit my marks.

“My first year in 2013, the track was pretty similar, it was just having that rain overnight. It got really one line-ish, which makes it really hard to pass. I’m glad to come away from there with relatively good results and points. I’m still chasing that first race win, but obviously I’ll take an overall! I’m trying to be really consistent and battle with the top guys every weekend, because they are going to do the same, I just want to be there every moto, and I’ve been able to do that so far.”

The result now positions Gibbs just one point shy of Ferris in overall championship standings.

Matt Moss was able to hold off a fast finishing Todd Waters to claim his second podium result of the afternoon. Despite the result he was unable to claim a spot on the Broadford overall podium after Waters and Ferris tied for second place. A count back however meant that Waters would drop to third following a lower standing in moto two.

The fourth round of the Motul MX Nationals will be held at Murray Bridge on May 22, 2016.

Thor MX1 round three results

1) Kirk Gibbs– 64 points
2) Dean Ferris – 63 points
3) Todd Waters – 63 points
4) Matt Moss – 60 points
5) Brett Metcalfe – 50 points
6) Dylan Long – 47 points
7) Daniel Reardon – 47 points
8) Jay Wilson – 47 points
9) Jacob Wright – 42 points
10) James Alen – 39 points

Thor MX1 Championship Standings

1) Dean Ferris – 190 points
2) Kirk Gibbs – 189 points
3) Todd Waters – 182 points
4) Matt Moss – 177 points
5) Brett Metcalfe – 165 points
6) Daniel Reardon – 146 points
7) Dylan Long – 139 points
8) Jay Wilson – 133 points
9) Kade Mosig – 130 points
10) Jacob Wright – 106 points

Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1723 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. MX Nationals Results - Dirt Action

Comments are closed.