Beaton Goes Undefeated at Broadford To Leave with MX2 Championship Lead

Jed Baton
Jed Baton

The DPH Motosport Yamaha rider has had a breakout round in the unforgiving Brisbane conditions.

By Hayden Gregory
Jed Baton
Jed Baton

Severe weather conditions overnight forced a removal of qualifying for the round with riders given gate picks based on championship standings.

KTM’s Jayden Rykers seemed unhindered by the conditions, claiming the holeshot in moto one before moving into the race lead. It would be shortlived however as a small mistake allowed Dylan Wills to move into the number one position.

The muddy conditions kept racing tight and we soon saw another lead change with Jed Beaton assuming the top spot. In a surprising sight championship leader Caleb Ward looked challenged by the conditions struggling way back in 12th place.

Beaton continued to impress out in front while CRF Honda’s Kyle Webster moved into second ahead of Jake Moss in third. As the first moto continued the podium positions remained unchanged with Beaton taking out a hard earned victory.

Caleb Ward was unable to finish the opening race with bike problems causing a DNF; the incident causing a huge hit to his championship points tally.

In the second moto, Husqvarna’s Luke Arbon sped out of the gates to score the holeshot before Beaton once again moved into the early race lead. Continually clocking off fast laps the DPH Yamaha rider broke away from the field showing that the dominance in race one was no fluke.

In chase, less than ten seconds separated second to tenth place with a huge battle set for the remaining podium positions. Lap traffic eventually took the sting out of the contest however with Arbon maintaining second place ahead of Webster in third.

Beaton claimed his second chequered flag of the day to claim an extremely impressive Broadford clean sweep.

“It is so good to reward the team and also myself with the win at Broadford today,” Beaton said. “I’ve been working so hard for this and I can’t believe it’s finally happened,” he said.

“To go 1,1 for the first time is just a really good feeling and I’m hoping to carry that same momentum into the next round. I’m feeling confident so, it’s all upwards from here.

“I finally got my starts sorted which was good too, but I really just can’t thank DPH Motorsports Yamaha enough for the opportunity, as well as everyone else associated with the team. Hopefully there are lots more moments like this throughout the season.”

Webster would finish the round second overall after a 2-3 finish with Luke Arbon rounding out the top three.

Beaton leaves Queensland with the championship leader’s red plate as Caleb Ward drops all the way down to seventh place.

The series will now take a short break before continuing in three weeks at Murray Bridge.

Motul MX2 round three results

1) Jed Beaton – 70 points
2) Kyle Webster – 62 points
3) Luke Arbon – 55 points
4) Nathan Crawford – 54 points
5) Jake Moss – 54 points
6) Dylan Wills – 47 points
7) Wade Hunter – 46 points
8) Wilson Todd – 46 points
9) Hamish Harwood – 43 points
10) Richie Evans – 43 points

Motul MX2 Championship Standings

1) Jed Beaton – 172 points
2) Nathan Crawford – 169 points
3) Luke Arbon – 161 points
4) Jake Moss – 161 points
5) Wilson Todd – 148 points
6) Jayden Rykers – 144 points
7) Caleb Ward – 142 points
8) Kyle Webster – 138 points
9) Kale Makeham  – 134 points
10) Wade Hunter – 130 points


Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1723 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. MX Nationals Results - Dirt Action

Comments are closed.