PR: Cachia Scores KTM’s First MX Nationals Podium of 2012 as Lamont Wins MXD


Victorian Josh Cachia has risen for his first podium of 2012 in the MX2 category of the MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, at Wonthaggi in Victoria on Sunday.

Josh Cachia

The JDR/KTM Factory Racing rider scored a superb win to open his account for the weekend before sealing his spot on the rostrum with fourth and seventh place results in the proceeding motos. Cachia is now placed fourth in the series, again benefiting from fast starts as he has all season on the 250 SX-F.

It was pretty interesting with close racing all day and the first race went well for me,” Cachia explained. “I was pretty stoked to come away with the win in that moto and I definitely can’t complain with that. I can’t thank the team enough because they’re like a second family to me and it makes it fun to come to the races.”

Wonthaggi wasn’t so kind to teammate Ryan Marmont, who had to settle for 12th overall after being ruled out of contention with a crash in the final moto. Marmont was transported to Dandenong Hospital for observation after suffering a concussion. Earlier he posted 8-10 results, now ranked 10th in the standings.

Lone JDR/KTM Factory Racing MX1 contender Dan Reardon finished 13th for the round on the 450 SX-F, struggling to gel with the circuit as he and the team continue to work toward improvement during the season. The former champion ended the round with a scorecard of 11-12-16 finishes.

New Zealand’s Kayne Lamont won his first ever round in the MX Development class aboard a 250 SX, racing to a consistent effort of 2-1-7 results and placing himself well in title contention.

I’m really enjoying the new power of the two-stroke and it seems to get good starts – except for the last race,” Lamont said after switching from a four-stroke recently. “Qualifying went well for me and the first gate pick helped a lot.

I had a moment in the first race and got up to second, then in race two I got the holeshot and won it. In the third moto I was 25th through the first turn and got back into the top 10, so it was a good result.”

Another KTM rider in Kale Makeham completed the top three for the weekend, while Choice Motorsports KTM’s Dylan Long retained the series lead with fourth overall. Making it five KTMs in the top 10 was Joel Milesevic in sixth.

GMR Motorex KTM rising star Egan Mastin finished third in the Rookie Lites ranks with two moto wins, while Reece Rayner finished seventh in the Rookie 85cc class. KTM’s Hunter Lawrence finished second in that same division.

Wanneroo will host the fourth round in Western Australia on 12-13 May. For additional information on the JDR Motorex KTM team, visit or check the team out on Facebook at

Visit on the web for further information on KTM Australia, as well as KTM’s full model line-up of off-road and road motorcycles available for 2012.

2012 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship

Round Three – Wonthaggi, VIC

MX1 Overall Results:

1. Brad Anderson 67

2. Todd Waters 63

3. Lawson Bopping 57

4. Josh Coppins 56

5. Cody Cooper 50

6. Jake Moss 47

7. Jay Marmont 44

8. Tye Simmonds 39

9. Dylan Peterson 35

10. Dean Porter 32

13. Daniel Reardon (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 24

MX2 Overall Results:

1. Ford Dale 69

2. Luke Styke 60

3. Josh Cachia (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 57

4. Adam Monea 55

5. Cheyne Boyd 49

6. Kirk Gibbs 43

7. Kade Mosig 43

8. Errol Willis 39

9. Geran Stapleton 36

10. Lewis Woods 29

12. Ryan Marmont (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 24

MXD Overall Results:

1. Kayne Lamont (KTM) 61

2. Sam Martin 57

3. Kale Makeham (KTM) 56

4. Dylan Leary (KTM) 53

5. Dylan Long (KTM) 44

6. Ben George 43

7. Joel Milesevic (KTM) 39

8. Jay Wilson 39

9. John Phillips 36

10. Mitch Budd 36

MX1 Championship Standings (after 3 of 10 rounds):

1. Josh Coppins 181

2. Brad Anderson 161

3. Todd Waters 152

4. Jake Moss 148

5. Lawson Bopping 146

6. Jay Marmont 139

7. Cody Cooper 137

8. Tye Simmonds 133

9. Daniel Reardon (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 96

10. Daniel McCoy 83

MX2 Championship Standings (after 3 of 10 rounds):

1. Luke Styke 192

2. Ford Dale 179

3. Kirk Gibbs 162

4. Josh Cachia (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 149

5. Kade Mosig 140

6. Cheyne Boyd 136

7. Adam Monea 135

8. Errol Willis 115

9. Justin McDonald 110

10. Ryan Marmont (JDR/KTM Factory Racing) 91

MXD Championship Standings (after 3 of 10 rounds):

1. Dylan Long (KTM) 168

2. Sam Martin 157

3. Dylan Leary (KTM) 157

4. Kayne Lamont (KTM) 155

5. Kale Makeham (KTM) 152

6. Joel Milesevic (KTM) 131

7. Jay Wilson 128

8. Mitch Norris 123

9. Mitch Budd 90

10. Dylan Wills 87

Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1723 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.