KTM 2T Cup Race Report: Monster Energy MX Nationals Coolum, QLD




Court wins hotly contested KTM Two Stroke Cup

Battle for top spot on podium down to final race


30 August 2014: Coolum, Queensland

An incredible 33 riders took to the track today for Queensland’s edition of the KTM Two-Stroke Cup at round ten of the Monster Energy MX Nationals in sunny Coolum.

When bikes hit the track, it was the 208 machine of Josh Adams who took top qualifying position with a 1:49.111 lap time, ahead of Dakota Court in second and Dylan Gosling in third.

As the two stroke machines lined up, the full grid was a sight in itself. Top two-stroke qualifiers Adams, Court and Gosling expecting big things from moto one.

When the gate dropped, the holeshot was grabbed by the number 208 machine of Adams only centimeters ahead of Court, who exited turn one in second.

After one lap though, Adams’ lead was relinquished – going down and handing the number one spot to KTM’s Court, while Gosling moved into second position ahead of Kerrod Morrissy.

It was on lap four that the battle for the lead really heated up, testing the two-stoke riders’ strength and endurance. Court and Gosling went head to head for a whole lap – Gosling unable to make a pass stick and continuing in second.

The opportunity to grab the lead presented itself once again on lap six, when Court and Gosling moved into lapped riders, Gosling again unable to apply the pressure required to pass Court.

When the chequered flag flew, Court crossed the line as the moto one winner, while Gosling took second ahead of Morrissy who comfortably claimed third.

In moto two, the holeshot was handed to Gosling and the Husqvarna pilot took advantage of the great start.

He streamed ahead with Adams who battled hard to stay within touch in second, and the pair managed to put some good time on the rest of the field.

Behind them, Court and Luke Davis were locked in a huge battle over opening couple of laps, trying to lock in third and fourth position.

Court got the upper hand early, and the pair tussled in what looked to be the tightest fought battle of the day.

Patience was a virtue for Davis, and on lap six of the nine-lap race, he made his move to push into third and lay his claim for a podium finish.

Up front, there was drama on the penultimate lap when Gosling went down – giving up three points in the overall championship.

While he resumed the race in second, he surrendered it to Davis on the final lap finishing third, behind Davis, with Adams taking maximum points.

In the third moto of the day, Gosling looked to have taken the holeshot before Adams came through at first corner to take the lead.

At the end of the opening lap, Gosling had arrested the lead back from Adams, with Court and Davis in third and fourth respectively.

Drama unfolded soon after when Golsing down on lap two and was passed by Adams and Davis before resuming in third spot.

On lap four Gosling was passed again, this time by Court, while Adams and Davis swapped positions several times over the next few laps at the front of the field.

At the chequered flag it was Adams who finished in front, taking the win from Davis, Court and Gosling in fourth.

In the overall championship, Court came out on top – his consistent day being rewarded with a nine-point series win from Gosling.

In a tightly contested series, Gosling finished six points ahead of third placed Adams, while Zane Keleher and Daniel Kelly finished in fourth and fifth place respectively.

For a full list of all the results head to www.mxnationals.com.au.

Round Results:

1) Dakota Court 93 (35, 28, 30)
2) Josh Adams 92 (22, 35, 35)
3) Luke Davis 92 (28, 32, 32)
4) Gosling Dylan 90 (32, 30, 28)
5) Kerrod Morrissy 82 (30, 26, 26)
6) Zane Keleher 70 (26, 21, 23)
7) Nicholas Geck 70 (25, 24, 21)
8) Geordie McGrath 68 (18, 25, 25)
9) Andrew Lowther 63 (21, 22, 20)
10) Tim Vare 62 (15, 23, 24)

Overall championship results:

1) Dakota Court 163
2) Gosling Dylan 154
3) Josh Adams 148
4) Zane Keleher 124
5) Daniel Kelly 103
6) Luke Davis 92
7) Tyson Baxter 92
8) Stephen Moylan 87
9) Kerrod Morrissy 82
10) Nicholas Geck 70

– ends –

IMAGE: Jeff Crow / Explorer Media

Media Enquiries:
Andrew Weiss

0402 447 783