Ironman National Stats and facts


Everything you need to know about the historic raceway.


  • Ironman Raceway is the newest venue in the Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship, hosting a National for just the third time. This will mark the second season in which it has served as the season finale.
    • Sitting less than an hour outside of the motorsports mecca of Indianapolis, Ironman Raceway has ushered in a new era of Pro Motocross in the racing epicenter of Indiana, which hosted a round of the 1973 championship at Snyder Park in Washington.
    • Also known as The Shaver Family Farm, the facility has hosted one of the most iconic rounds of GNCC racing since 1995. An estimated 3,000 truckloads of organic material mix and sand were used in order to transform the property into Ironman Raceway.
    • The Ironman National is the annual homecoming for Lucas Oil, serving as the home state of owner Forrest Lucas and headquarters for the company’s manufacturing. Indianapolis is home to both Lucas Oil Stadium (NFL’s Colts) and Lucas Oil Raceway (NHRA).

450 Class Stats


2015 Overall Podium:

  1. Ryan Dungey
    2. Ken Roczen
    3. Jason Anderson
  • The first 450 Class race held at Ironman Raceway was August 16, 2014. Ken Roczen won on a KTM on a rain-soaked afternoon en route to winning his first career title.
    • Red Bull KTM is currently undefeated at Ironman Raceway in the 450 Class and has taken the overall win in three out of four chances across both divisions.
    • There has yet to be a moto sweep at Ironman Raceway, as three different riders have won the four contested motos – Trey Canard, Ryan Dungey, and Ken Roczen. Roczen has won two of four motos.
    • The moto scores for the top two finishers at Ironman Raceway the last two seasons have been identical with the winner going 1-2 and the runner-up going 3-1.
    • Ironman Raceway holds the unique distinction of being the only track in the championship in which international riders claimed the inaugural win at the facility in both the 450 Class and 250 Class.
    • Marvin Musquin will have the opportunity to become the first rider to win at Ironman Raceway in both the 450 Class and 250 Class.

All-Time Wins at Ironman Raceway (Total Wins)

Ryan Dungey (1)
Ken Roczen (1)

Past Winners at Ironman Raceway

August 16, 2014 / Ken Roczen, Germany / KTM
August 22, 2015 / Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, MN / KTM

250 Class Stats

2015 Overall Podium:

  1. Aaron Plessinger
    2. Joey Savatgy
    3. Jessy Nelson
  • The first 250 Class race held at Ironman Raceway was August 16, 2014. Marvin Musquin won on a KTM while Jeremy Martin clinched the 250 Class title.
    • This will mark the first time in Ironman Raceway’s brief history that the 250 Class title will not be decided at the Ironman National.
    • Last season Aaron Plessinger became the first rider to claim his inaugural Pro Motocross victory at Ironman Raceway. It is considered to be the home race for the Ohio native, who is a second generation competitor.
    • Plessinger also earned his first ever supercross win during his home race at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, giving him one of the sport’s most truly unique distinctions of not only winning both in the same state, but also at his adopted home race.
    • Joey Savatgy and Jessy Nelson have finished second and third, respectively, in each of the first two races at Ironman Raceway. While Nelson will miss the race due to injury, Savatgy will look to maintain his position as the most consistent rider at the track.

All-Time Wins at Ironman Raceway (Total Wins)

Marvin Musquin (1)
Aaron Plessinger (1)

Past Winners at Ironman Raceway

August 16, 2014 / Marvin Musquin, France / KTM
August 22, 2015 / Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, OH / Yam

About Ashley Diterlizzi 415 Articles
Ashley is a digital and social media guru who loves a good dirt bike meme.