The Orange team came away with fistfuls of gold as Queensland’s famous Shell Sunshine State Motocross Championship concluded at the Echo Valley circuit in Toowoomba last weekend, taking away championships in junior, senior and female categories.

Press Release
Noah Smerdon
Noah Smerdon

The Shell Sunshine State series is well known as a breeding ground for emerging talent, and this year’s five-round affair was no different.

Australian 65cc champion and KTM Factory Junior Team rider Noah Smerdon kicked off the rampage on Saturday, winning the 65cc 10-11 years category ahead of Ryan Alexanderson from the Motorex-KTM Junior Development Team, while Wayne Leonard KTM racer Deegan Mancinelli was third.

Smerdon climbed the podium a second time, winning the 85cc 9-11 years class after a protracted battle with Mancinelli, while Jack Mather was third.

In the 7-9 years 65cc category, Jett Allsop from the Motorex KTM Junior Development Team triumphed, while the Mini Lites class for 12-13 year-olds saw Jai Walker (Pro Motorcycles Sunshine Coast) victorious.

Sunday saw the big guns out to fire and in the premier MX1 class local talent Kerrod Morrisey (QB4 Toowoomba) wrapped up second in the championship behind Zak Small, and ahead of Brodie Downes.
MX1 Honours on the day went to Dean Ferris, ahead of evergreen Series Coordinator Robbie Marshall, with Luke Wilson third.

Morrissey came out well on top in the Senior 125-150cc 2-stroke class, leading home Brad Polsoni from, Team Moto Virginia and Mick MacDermid.

In the Women’s category, KTM girls Tamara Gray (North Coast KTM) and Sarah Guthrie (QB4 Toowoomba) traded wins before Gray eventually triumphed over Guthrie by 18 points.

Former Queensland Motocross Champion Gray also finished fifth among the boys in the Senior 125-150cc 2-stroke class.

About Ashley Diterlizzi 415 Articles
Ashley is a digital and social media guru who loves a good dirt bike meme.