Gasjer Makes Dream MXGP Start

Tim Gasjer wins Qatar pic - MXGP
Tim Gasjer wins Qatar pic - MXGP

Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gasjer has won the opening round of his rookie MXGP season in Qatar.

By Hayden Gregory
Tim Gasjer wins Qatar pic - MXGP
Tim Gasjer wins Qatar pic – MXGP

Motocross has kicked off for 2016 and it was 2015 MX2 World Champion Tim Gasjer to make the first impact. The nineteen year old stepped up to the premier class rather than defending his MX2 title and the move has already paid dividends.

Gasjer won both motos in an exceptional showing on his way to becoming the youngest rider in history to win on debut.

“I was really relaxed coming here, I didn’t have pressure on myself. I didn’t know what to expect, I knew I had a good winter, good preparation, good testing and good with the team, so I came here just wanting to give my best,” Gasjer said.

Defending MXGP champion Romain Febvre managed a second place finish at the opener with a 3-2 result. The French rider was pleased with his result albeit with an injured elbow which he admitted affected his riding.

“The first moto with my injury to the elbow I couldn’t ride like I expected, I was just too tight,” Febvre commented.I was not happy with the riding, but I’m happy with the place. I made a mistake in the second race but I came back strong for second. I knew Tim was really good, I saw him riding a few times in the winter, I saw him riding with the 450 so I knew he would be good. Anyway we have 17 rounds to go.” 

Finishing on equal points with Febvre was Team HRC’s Evgeny Bobryshev. The rider similarly claimed a 2-3 result however was pushed down the leader board due to positions in the final moto.

We did a good job today and I’m really happy to start the season like this on the podium,” Bobryshev said. “The first race was pretty easy for me in second, but in the second race I had a small crash when I hit a stone that I didn’t see, but I came back to third place which I’m happy with. It’s a long season and this is just the first race but I’m happy with this weekend and feeling good. 

“We’ve worked hard with Honda and HRC to put a good bike together over the winter so big thanks to the team that we’re starting this season in this way. I’d also like to say big congratulations to Tim for his win today – he rode really well,”

The top five was rounded out by Jeremy van Horebeek and Antonio Cairoli.

The next round of the 2016 FIM Motocross World Championship will take place on f March 6th in Suphan Buri, Thailand.

MXGP Moto1:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 33:56.516
2. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:07.507
3. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:19.644
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:23.148
5. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:27.015
6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:29.383
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:30.886
8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki MXGP), +0:32.227
9. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:33.672
10. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), +0:35.336
11. Ben Townley (NZL, Suzuki MXGP), +0:38.183
12. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:40.398
13. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +0:58.882
14. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +0:59.204
15. Milko Potisek (FRA, Yamaha), +1:20.303
16. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +1:22.623
17. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:42.385
18. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), -1 lap(s)
19. Kei Yamamoto (JPN, Honda), -1 lap(s)
20. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), -5 lap(s)
21. Alex Snow (GBR, Yamaha), -13 lap(s).

MXGP Moto2:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, Honda), 34:07.633
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, Yamaha), +0:08.230
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Honda), +0:09.952
4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), +0:10.628
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, Yamaha), +0:11.960
6. Maximilian Nagl (GER, Husqvarna), +0:14.601
7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:19.057
8. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), +0:20.221
9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki MXGP), +0:41.741
10. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), +0:42.891
11. Ben Townley (NZL, Suzuki MXGP), +1:06.509
12. Valentin Guillod (SUI, Yamaha), +1:08.264
13. Tanel Leok (EST, Husqvarna), +1:09.018
14. Milko Potisek (FRA, Yamaha), +1:14.161
15. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), +1:18.256
16. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Honda), +1:24.587
17. Christophe Charlier (FRA, Husqvarna), +1:28.740
18. Kei Yamamoto (JPN, Honda), -1 lap(s)
19. Clement Desalle (BEL, Kawasaki), -1 lap(s)
20. Alex Snow (GBR, Yamaha), -1 lap(s)
21. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Honda), -18 lap(s).

MXGP Overall Result & Championship Standings: 
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 50 points
2. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 42 p.
3. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 42 p.
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 34 p.
5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 33 p.
6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 30 p.
7. Tommy Searle (GBR, KAW), 25 p.
8. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Suzuki MXGP), 25 p.
9. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 25 p.
10. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 24 p.
11. Ben Townley (NZL, Suzuki MXGP), 20 p.
12. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 16 p.
13. Jose Butron (ESP, KTM), 14 p.
14. Tanel Leok (EST, HUS), 13 p.
15. Milko Potisek (FRA, YAM), 13 p.
16. Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON), 11 p.
17. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, HON), 8 p.
18. Christophe Charlier (FRA, HUS), 8 p.
19. Kei Yamamoto (JPN, HON), 5 p.
20. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 3 p.
21. Alex Snow (GBR, YAM), 1 p.

Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1721 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.