Australian Speedway Under 21’s Bound for Denmark

Photo credit: Jarek Pabjan
Photo credit: Jarek Pabjan

Currently ranked third in the world the junior team will contest the Team Cup semi final against Denmark, Finland and Great Britain.

By Hayden Gregory
Photo credit: Jarek Pabjan
Photo credit: Jarek Pabjan

The 2016 team will be led by current Australian Senior Speedway champion Brady Kurtz. He will be joined by the recent Australian under 21 winner Jack Holder, three time national under 21 champ Max Fricke and QLD’s Jake Allen.

The team boasts experience with three of its members having competed in last year’s world series while remaining eligible for the 2017 competition.

Australian Speedway Team Manager Mark Lemon is confident in the riders selected.

We will travel to Denmark with the vision of winning the semi final, and gaining the direct route in to the final in Sweden later in August this year,” Lemon said.

“Max, Brady and Jack have all had experience at this level previously, and we would expect them to capitalize on it.

“We’ve been put under some financial pressure due to lack of support coming from the Australian Sports Commission this year, however we are sure this won’t distract from the on track performances.

“They are young brave lads, learning every time they set foot on a race track. It would be nice to lose the stranglehold of the big speedway nations Poland and Denmark, even against the odds”.

Under 21 Australian Speedway Team Cup Squad:

Brady Kurtz NSW
Max Fricke VIC
Jack Holder NSW
Jake Allen QLD


Jye Etheridge NSW
Cameron Heeps WA


Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1721 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.