Report: Monster Energy MX Nationals Rd 6 Hervey Bay, QLD


Bopping, Styke and Lamont land Monster Energy MX Nationals Hervey Bay victories

Lawson Bopping won his first ever MX1 overall for CDR Yamaha at Hervey Bay. Image: Dan McCallum.

Hervey Bay, QLD – CDR Yamaha rider Lawson Bopping captured his first ever victory in the Monster Energy MX Nationals at Hervey Bay in Queensland on Sunday, declaring himself as an MX1 championship contender just past the halfway point of season 2012.

The second half of the season started with a bang on a glorious day in the Sunshine State, as two of Australia’s most talented rising stars battled it out for the overall win. Bopping was awarded the victory after a special moto three win, holding off charging Motul Pirelli Suzuki contender Todd Waters.

Earlier in the day, Bopping won the opening moto in another stellar performance, before finishing second in moto two, which was won by Waters’ Suzuki teammate Cody Cooper.

I’m stoked with 1-2-1 finishes and it was almost a perfect day for me,” Bopping said. “My team has worked so hard and the time I spent in America during the mid-season break has really paid off.

“We’ll see what we can do from here, but so far, so good and I’m feeling good about where we are at in the championship. CDR Yamaha is definitely going really good this year, so it’s awesome to get a win for them.

Waters finished second overall and now sits just 12 points behind championship leader Josh Coppins, who was fourth overall at Hervey Bay after a round of mixed results for CDR Yamaha.

“It was a great day, the track got really tricky out there and I have to hand it to Lawson,” Waters commented. “The whole Motul Pirelli Suzuki team have worked hard during the break, we made a few changes, and I’ve been training hard. Now I can’t wait to get to Horsham and see what we can do there.”

Completing the overall podium was Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing’s Brad Anderson after a consistent effort. Anderson and Bopping are now tied for third in the championship standings.

I’m happy to be on the podium, third overall is really good and it’s a positive way to start the season’s second half,” Anderson reflected. “I haven’t raced at Horsham before, but I look forward to it and it will be another new experience for me.

In fifth overall for the round was Dan Reardon, who had his best result this year for JDR KTM. Both Reardon and sixth place finisher Dean Porter experienced great improvements to commence the season’s second stretch.

Coppins retained his series lead following round six, but now just 25 points separates him from Waters, Anderson and Bopping, who becomes the fourth serious title contender in the mix.

The MX1 podium featured Lawson Bopping, Todd Waters and Brad Anderson. Image: Dan McCallum.

Queensland-based Serco Yamaha Metal Mulisha Racing claimed a victorious 1-2 finish in the Motul MX2 category at Hervey Bay, with series leader Luke Styke winning ahead of teammate Kirk Gibbs.

Styke won the opening two motos, before finishing fourth in the final moto to secure the overall. The result sees Styke build a 46-point lead in the championship after six of 10 rounds.

“Today was good even though I struggled a little bit in qualifying,” Styke said. “The Serco Yamaha Metal Mulisha Racing YZ250F pulled me out of the gate strong all day and it was perfect. We try to aim for 60 points every weekend and today I got 68, so it went to plan.”

Gibbs had his best round of the season with second overall, taking advantage of the mid-season break to allow a pre-season wrist injury to heal further. Completing the podium was Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing’s Ford Dale, who maintains second in the title chase.

The final moto win at Hervey Bay went to Josh Cachia in a gutsy performance for JDR KTM, but he was forced to settle for eighth overall after suffering a DNF in the opening moto.

The MX2 podium was filled by Luke Styke, Kirk Gibbs and Ford Dale. Image: Dan McCallum.

The Pirelli MXD class was taken out by Kiwi Kayne Lamont, marking his third round win in succession. The victory for Lamont elevated him to the championship lead ahead of fellow KTM rider Dylan Long, who was sixth overall at Hervey Bay following a final moto win.

I’m pretty pumped because I was able to keep it consistent, stay on the bike and score good points,” Lamont explained. “I’m confident that I can keep this form, it could be challenging, but I’m up to the challenge. Today was demanding, the track was good and I enjoyed it a lot.”

Making it an all two-stroke podium behind Lamont was Kale Makeham and Joel Milesevic. Lamont won moto one, while Makeham was the winner of the second moto.

The Australian Motocross Championship will continue on 15 July at Horsham in Victoria. Visit for further information on the Monster Energy MX Nationals series.

Round Six – Hervey Bay, QLD

MX1 Overall Results:
1. Lawson Bopping 72
2. Todd Waters 60
3. Brad Anderson 53
4. Josh Coppins 51
5. Daniel Reardon 49
6. Dean Porter 46
7. Jake Moss 39
8. Cody Cooper 37
9. Dylan Peterson 34
10. Craig Anderson 33

MX2 Overall Results:
1. Luke Styke 68
2. Kirk Gibbs 55
3. Ford Dale 54
4. Kade Mosig 50
5. Adam Monea 49
6. Scott Columb  47
7. Cheyne Boyd 39
8. Josh Cachia 38
9. Lewis Woods 38
10. Luke Arbon 32

MXD Overall Results:
1. Kayne Lamont 67
2. Kale Makeham 60
3. Joel Milesevic 54
4. Jay Wilson 48
5. Wade Hunter 45
6. Dylan Long 39
7. Sam Martin 37
8. Ben George 34
9. Nicklas Scott 33
10. Mitch Norris 28

MX1 Championship Standings (after 6 of 10 rounds):
1. Josh Coppins 352
2. Todd Waters 340
3. Brad Anderson 27
4. Lawson Bopping 327
5. Cody Cooper 269
6. Tye Simmonds 234
7. Jake Moss 210
8. Jay Marmont 207
9. Daniel Reardon 196
10. Daniel McCoy 189

MX2 Championship Standings (after 6 of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 374
2. Ford Dale 328
3. Cheyne Boyd 297
4. Josh Cachia 296
5. Kirk Gibbs 284
6. Kade Mosig 283
7. Adam Monea 264
8. Justin McDonald 224
9. Scott Columb 215
10. Lewis Woods 211

MXD Championship Standings (after 5 of 9 rounds):
1. Kayne Lamont 284
2. Dylan Long 265
3. Sam Martin 241
4. Dylan Leary 234
5. Kale Makeham 231
6. Joel Milesevic 230
7. Jay Wilson 225
8. Mitch Norris 151
9. Jarrad Davis 128
10. Wade Hunter 126

The MXD podium had Kayne Lamont ahead of Kale Makeham and Joel Milesevic. Image: Dan McCallum.