Monster Energy MX Nationals Rd 2 Murray Bridge, SA


Following a huge opening round, teams and riders packed up and made the trip to Murray Bridge SA for the second round of the tour.

Luke Clout
Todd Waters

Presented with an amazing track and great conditions the scene was set for some epic racing.

With a  strong crowd of around 3000 in attendance, the riders didn’t disappoint with some amazing battles across all classes.

First on the track was the Motul MX2 championship class, carrying the red plate from his round 1 win was 2012 runner up Luke Styke (Serco Yamaha).

Styke took a fall in moto 1 and worked his way from the back through to 3rd place, he came out swinging in moto 2 and took the win, second on the day and maintaining his series red plate.

His Teammate Serco Yamaha, MX2 rookie Luke Clout took the win in moto 1 and 2nd in moto two, for the overall and his first MX2 win.

3rd overall was Privateer Brock Winston for his first ever MX Nationals Podium.

The Monster Energy MX1 Championship class didn’t disappoint with the first lot of championship points going to Motorex KTM’s Todd Waters in the Go Pro Super Pole.

Moto 1 was a real mixed bag with both Monster Energy Kawasaki riders suffering DNF and plenty of other riders taking small falls, Waters was the pace setter but a few mistakes had him finish 3rd. Moto 2 was won by Waters and that gave him the round win to make it two from two.

Second overall was Billy Mackenzie backing up his performance from round 1 and filling the last spot on the podium was Campbell Mining’s Jake Moss.
Murray Bridge played host to the opening round of the Yamaha Australian Pro Quads class and they really turned up the heat with some great action.

Moto 1 was red flagged on the first lap with defending champion Gaisford taking a heavy fall.

With Gaisford out, it opened the championship up to be anybody’s day.

Yamaha mounted Christopher Bosnakis, (WA) showed that he will be a name in the Pro Quads, the 16 year old won both moto’s to take the overall from Victorian Honda mounted Jake van Vliet and rounding out the podium was Adam Larson in 3rd place.

Series Promoter Kevin Williams was delighted with the event ,and the work the club did in improving the venue.
“This would be the best round we have had in ten years” Williams said.

Motul MX 2 Round Results  

1st Luke Clout Serco Yamaha 67 Points
2nd Luke Styke Serco Yamaha 65 Points
3rd Brock Winston KTM 57 Points
4th Kale Makeham KTM 54Points
5th Ryan Marmont Raceline Pirelli Suzuki 50 Points

Motul MX 2 Championship Standings 

1st Luke Styke Serco Yamaha 135
2nd Luke Clout Serco Yamaha 122
3rd Kale Makeham KTM 112
4th Brock Winston KTM 109
5th Geran Stapleton Raceline Pirelli Suzuki 90

Monster Energy MX 1 Round Results  

1st Todd Waters Motorex KTM 66 Points
2nd Billy Mackenzie CDR Yamaha 64 Points
3rd Jake Moss Campbell Mining 60 Points

Monster Energy MX 1 Championship Standings 

1st Todd Waters Motorex KTM 141 Points
2nd Billy Mackenzie CDR Yamaha 122 Points
3rd Lawson Bopping Cdr Yamaha 109 Points

Yamaha Pro Quads Round Results  

1st Christopher Bosnakis  70 Points
2nd Jake van Vliet 62 Points
3rd Adam Larson 58 Points
4th Mitch van Vliet 56 Points
5th Daniel Middleton 56 Points

MX2 Podium