Desalle and Herlings Claim Victory at Assen

Clement Desalle

Both riders mastered the sandy Dutch track at round 16 of the FIM Motocross World Championship.

By Hayden Gregory
Clement Desalle
Clement Desalle

Clement Desalle surprised many spectators shooting a 2-2 score to earn his first MXGP victory in over two years. The Monster Energy rider showed great consistency and confidence and he was evidently relived once the motos were over.

“Finally I am back on top of the box,” he said, “it’s really special, especially in the sand because while I know I can ride in the sand, a lot of people don’t believe it so much, so I am happy to do it here.”

Red Bull KTM’s Antonio Cairoli took maximum points in race two after a hard earned fourth in the opener. The result landed him second for the GP while also retaining second in the overall standings. MXGP leader Tim Gasjer finished eighth overall after recording a DNF in moto two leaving the smallest door open for Cairoli to mount a miracle comeback.  65 points separate the pair with two rounds left to race.

“Anything is possible,” Cairoli said, “there are still 100 points left in the championship, we know it’s difficult but we want to win so we will see what the others do, that’s all we can do.” 

Hometown hero Glenn Coldenhoff enjoyed a great outing at Assen landing on the box for the first time this season in third.

“It was an amazing weekend, I really enjoyed it and I’m happy I made it, and also for the fans” he said.

In 250 racing, Jeffrey Herlings claimed his 60th career grand prix victory at the tender age of 21. Looking to reach his milestone, Herlings was amazingly beat straight up in the opening moto by American Thomas Covington. Unfortunately the Rockstar Energy Husqvarna rider could not back it up in the second crashing towards the back of the pack.

Herlings shook off the cobwebs and remained unchallenged in moto two, taking victory ahead of Jorge Prado Garcia and Brian Bogers

Herlings stood atop the box in front of his home fans while countryman Brian Bogers stood alongside him in second. Jorge Prado Garcia claimed the final step of the podium following a count back with Max Anstie.


MXGP Overall Top Ten:
1. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 44 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 43 p.;
3. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 40 p.;
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 33 p.;
5. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 31 p.;
6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 30 p.;
7. Tanel Leok (EST, KTM), 25 p.;
8. Jordi Tixier (FRA, KAW), 24 p.;
9. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 23 p.;
10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 22 p

MXGP Championship Top Ten:
1. Tim Gajser (SLO, HON), 653 points;
2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM), 588 p.;
3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS), 542 p.;
4. Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM), 522 p.;
5. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON), 494 p.;
6. Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM), 477 p.;
7. Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, KTM), 347 p.;
8. Clement Desalle (BEL, KAW), 342 p.;
9. Valentin Guillod (SUI, YAM), 326 p.;
10. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 307 p.

MX2 Overall Top Ten: 
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 47 points;
2. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 40 p.;
3. Jorge Prado Garcia (ESP, KTM), 31 p.;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 31 p.;
5. Thomas Kjer Olsen (DEN, HUS), 30 p.;
6. Thomas Covington (USA, HUS), 30 p.;
7. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 27 p.;
8. Bas Vaessen (NED, SUZ), 25 p.;
9. Lars van Berkel (NED, HUS), 25 p.;
10. Calvin Vlaanderen (NED, KTM), 23 p.

MX2 Championship Top Ten: 
1. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 644 points;
2. Jeremy Seewer (SUI, SUZ), 568 p.;
3. Benoit Paturel (FRA, YAM), 460 p.;
4. Max Anstie (GBR, HUS), 447 p.;
5. Pauls Jonass (LAT, KTM), 403 p.;
6. Dylan Ferrandis (FRA, KAW), 378 p.;
7. Petar Petrov (BUL, KAW), 351 p.;
8. Brian Bogers (NED, KTM), 349 p.;
9. Samuele Bernardini (ITA, TM), 341 p.;
10. Aleksandr Tonkov (RUS, YAM), 320 p.


Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1721 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.