Webb Makes it Three Straight


Yamalube/Star Racing Yamaha’s Cooper Webb remains undefeated in the 250SX West series, trumping the field again in Anaheim.

By Hayden Gregory


Cooper Webb has extended his points lead to 18 in the championship, a very concerning number for all other riders in the competition. Three rounds in, Webb is undoubtedly at the top of his game becoming the first rider in history to win four straight races in Anaheim.

GEICO Honda’s Jimmy Decotis scored the SupercrossLive.com Holeshot award before Joey Savatgy pulled into the lead by turn two. Like Decotis his lead was short-lived as Christian Craig claimed leading rights by the end of the first lap, with Webb back in fifth.

By Lap two Webb began making his way through the pack climbing to third before a Joey Savatgy crash left a clear path to second place. Out in front Craig was able to hold off Webb until lap seven when he made his first pas for the lead. From there a great battle ensued with the pair trading places a number of times before Webb landed the killer blow on lap ten.

Webb made the pass stick, placing a buffer between Craig and himself to claim another round win.

“It was an awesome race,” said Webb. “Once we (Webb and Craig) started battling, it was a fun race. It felt like we traded places like 10 times. I struggled all day and made some changes coming into tonight’s Main Event, and it worked out.” 

Christian Craig looked defeated after Webb went by, opening the door for Zach Osborne to also come through and make the pass. A third place result still marked Craig’s best career finish in a race he can take a lot of positives from.

On debut Australia’s Luke Clout impressed with a 14th place finish for his new Mad Racing Dirt Candy Suzuki team. Fellow compatriot Hayden Mellross also had a strong night placing 17th.

Round four of the 2016 AMA Monster Energy Supercross season will take place next weekend in Oakland.

Western Regional 250SX Class results:
1. Cooper Webb
2. Zach Osborne
3. Christian Craig
4. Joey Savatgy
5. Jimmy DeCotis
6. Jordon Smith
7. Kyle Cunningham
8. Colt Nichols
9. Mitchell Oldenburg
10. Kyle Peters
14. Luke Clout (AUS)
17. Hayden Mellross (AUS)

Western Regional 250SX Class championship standings:
1. Cooper Webb 75
2. Zach Osborne 57
3. Joey Savatgy 53
4. Jordon Smith 51
5. Jimmy DeCotis 47
6. Colt Nichols 43
7. Christian Craig 42
8. Kyle Peters 36
9. Mitchell Oldenburg 30
10. Kyle Cunningham 28


Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1721 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.