Southwick Stats and facts

Southwick facts

What you need to know heading into round seven of the 2016 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship.


  • The Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship makes its anticipated return to Southwick, bringing the world’s most prestigious championship back to New England for the first time since 2013.
  • The Wick 338, formerly known as Moto-X 338, is the one and only sand track in Pro Motocross.
  • This season commemorates 40 years since Southwick made its Pro Motocross debut in 1976.
  • For the first time since 2005 the track layout will flow in a counter-clockwise direction, the original direction the track started with. It ran clockwise from 2006-2013.
  • Due to its unique challenge as the only sand track, Southwick has produced some of the most unique winners in Pro Motocross history. Four riders have earned their one and only victory at The Wick.

450 Class Stats

– 2013 Overall Podium:

  1. Ryan Dungey
  2. Ryan Villopoto
  3. Justin Barcia
  • The first Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship race held at Southwick was June 6, 1976. Pierre Karsmakers won on a Honda for his final Pro Motocross victory in the premier division.
  • This will be the 36th time the gate will drop for a 450 Class race at The Wick 338.
  • Ricky Carmichael was the king of Southwick throughout the 2000’s, winning eight straight years from ‘00-’07, making him the winningest rider at The Wick.
  • Carmichael earned the first of 76 career 450 Class wins at Southwick in 2000.
  • Four riders earned their final Pro Motocross win in the premier class at Southwick. Four riders have also earned their first 450 Class victory at The Wick. Matt Goerke’s and Brett Metcalfe’s lone wins came at Southwick.
  • Local legend John Dowd is one of six riders to win at The Wick in both classes, but has the distinction of earning his 450 Class win first (’97) and his 250 Class win second (’98).
  • Dowd made history at Southwick in 2009 when he became the oldest rider in history to finish on the overall podium at the age of 44.

All-Time Wins at The Wick (Total Wins)

Ricky Carmichael (8)

Jeff Stanton (4)

Ryan Dungey (3)

Kent Howerton (3)

Rick Johnson (2)

250 Class Stats

2013 Overall Podium:

  1. Eli Tomac
  2. Ken Roczen
  3. Zach Osborne
  • The first Lucas Oil Pro Motocross 250 Class race held at Southwick was May 7, 1978. Broc Glover won on a Yamaha.
  • This will be the 31st time the gate will drop for a 250 Class race at The Wick.
  • Seven riders have won multiple 250 Class races at Southwick, five of who did so consecutively: Broc Glover (‘78 & ‘80), Doug Henry (‘93-‘94), Steve Lamson (‘95-‘96), Travis Pastrana (‘00-‘01), and Tyla Rattray (‘10-‘11).
  • No rider has ever won more than two 250 Class races at The Wick.
  • 2000 Pro Motocross 250 Class Champion Travis Pastrana’s first and last career wins came at Southwick.
  • Honda and Kawasaki have won the last 10 races at The Wick with nine different winners. Kawasaki has earned victory in seven of those races.
  • The 250 Class has featured 23 different winners over the last 30 races at Southwick.
  • Seven riders earned their first career Pro Motocross win at The Wick. Craig Anderson and Danny Smith secured their lone victories at Southwick.
  • The Wick is one of just two tracks on the Pro Motocross schedule that KTM has failed to win at in the 250 Class.

All-Time Wins at The Wick (Total Wins)

Ricky Carmichael (2)

Broc Glover (2)

Doug Henry (2)

Steve Lamson (2)

Travis Pastrana (2)

Tyla Rattray (2)

Larry Ward (2)




Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1723 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.