Romain Febvre Wraps up MXGP Championship in Assen

Febvre is the 2015 MXGP Champion
Febvre is the 2015 MXGP Champion

Factory Yamaha’s Romain Febvre has continued his phenomenal run of form, finishing second overall in Assen to secure the 2015 MXGP Championship.      

Story by Hayden Gregory                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                

Febvre is the 2015 MXGP Champion
Febvre is the 2015 MXGP Champion

The 23-year old rookie put the result beyond doubt in front of 37, 000 passionate fans at the man-made Assen track.

With two Grand Prix events remaining, Febvre is uncatchable at the top of the standings following an emphatic season aboard his YZ450FM. An incredible 11 podiums from 16 rounds, inclusive of 12 moto victories, highlights the season that Febvre has had.

In securing the championship, the factory Yamaha rider made a small piece of history becoming the first rookie to win the championship since 2009 and the first Frenchman to win since Mickael Pichon in 2002.

A 5-1 result was enough for Febvre to take out the MXGP in his first attempt.

“I started slowly on Saturday and showed good speed in qualifying already.” Febvre said. “I knew with some good starts I could be on the podium again and that was the goal. I knew also if I finished in front of [Gautier] Paulin then the championship would be done.

“It didn’t happen in the first moto but my start was a lot better in the second and I could pass everybody to win the 2015 world championship!

“I cannot thank everybody enough. The team did such a good job and gave me a chance last winter. I’m so happy.”

Hitachi Construction Machinery Revo KTM’s Shaun Simpson was the overall victor for the round. The victory places Simpson in fourth place overall and gives him a chance to challenge for the podium over the last two rounds.

Gautier Paulin made a few too many errors, resulting in a fourth place finish. With two rounds left the HRC rider sits in second place overall in the championship and will be looking to hold off current third placed teammate Evgeny Bobryshev.

Australian Husqvarna duo Todd Waters and Dean Ferris both managed to finish within the top ten overall, finishing 8th and 9th respectively.

MXGP Overall Top Ten:

1st Shaun Simpson (GBR,KTM) – 45
2nd Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM) – 41
3rd Glenn Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ) – 40
4th Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON) – 40
5th Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON) – 36
6th Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS)) – 30
7th Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM) – 28
8th Todd Waters (AUS, HUS) – 24
9th Dean Ferris (AUS, HUS) – 23
10th Jose Butron (ESP, KTM) – 20

MXGP Championship Top Ten:

1st Romain Febvre (FRA, YAM) – 638
2nd Gautier Paulin (FRA, HON) – 536
3rd Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, HON) – 499
4th Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM) – 437
5th Antonio Cairoli (ITA, KTM) – 416
6th Maximilian Nagl (GER, HUS) – 414
7th Jeremy Van Horebeek (BEL, YAM) – 394
8th Glen Coldenhoff (NED, SUZ) – 361
9th Clement Desalle (BEL, SUZ) – 331
10th Todd Waters (AUS, HUS) – 324
Damien Ashenhurst
About Damien Ashenhurst 1723 Articles
Managing Editor of DIRT ACTION magazine. Damo doesn't like cheese or ISIS. Can often be found riding in mud because it's closest to the natural environment of a squid.