Gasjer Main

Team HRC’s Tim Gajser was at his dominant best at the MXGP of Flanders, putting in a near-perfect performance to not only take the overall victory, but to also extend his lead in the 2020 MXGP World Championship to 48 points.

A second place in qualification gave him second gate pick and he took full advantage to get excellent starts on the Honda CRF450RW in both races at the Lommel circuit. In moto one, the #243 quickly swept into the lead on the first lap and was looking extremely comfortable, pulling out a small lead from the chasing pack. Unfortunately, he made one small mistake two-thirds of the way through the race and dropped back to second, which is where he ended up finishing. It was a minor disappointment, but Gajser was determined not to let it affect him, as he tried to back up his overall win here from 2019 when he went two-two.

Gasjer 2

Last year’s event was a milestone victory for the Slovenian rider as Lommel is called the toughest race on the calendar due to the deep, ever-changing sand that makes up this whole facility. Known as a hard-pack rider earlier in his career, Gajser has worked tirelessly to improve his sand abilities and the second moto today was an example of the high level he has now reached. Once again, he rounded the first corner in second place and after a lap of following the leader, he made his move and never looked back. Every lap he would pull out another second on the riders behind, and by the time the chequered flag was waved he crossed the line over 10 seconds ahead. This gave him two-one results for the overall victory and 47 crucial points in the championship battle.

Coming into this Belgian triple-header Gajser was 24 points clear of second place, but that has now doubled to 48, and with two more events here, he will be looking to increase that gap even more this coming week. Now though, he has a couple of days off, before racing again on Wednesday 21st October for round 14 of this 18-event world championship.

Gasjer 3

“From the beginning of the day, I felt great on the track and on the bike. In the first moto, I got a good start, in second place around the first corner and then I moved quickly into the lead, pulling out a little gap. Unfortunately, I made a small mistake and fell, which allowed Gautier to pass me and I finished second. In the second moto, I had a good first corner and came out second again. I passed Jorge in the second lap and then pulled out a decent gap to control the race and take the overall. I’m really happy to take the victory here because we have worked so hard to get better in the sand and this is toughest race to win. Everyone in the team has been great and we just keep on pushing to get better and better and I can’t thank everyone enough!” – Tim Gasjer


1PAULIN Gautier21FRA25Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha36:38.456
2GAJSER Tim243SLO22Team HRC – MXGPHonda0:08.713
3PRADO GARCIA Jorge61SPA20Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM0:19.653
4BOGERS Brian189NDL18Marchetti Racing Team KTMKTM0:21.723
5VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy89BEL16Honda SR MotoblouzHonda0:33.340
6FEBVRE Romain3FRA15Monster Energy Kawasaki RacingKawasaki0:34.647
7TONUS Arnaud4SWI14Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha0:35.438
8SEEWER Jeremy91SWI13Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha0:55.038
9TIXIER Jordi911FRA12Team VHR KTM RacingKTM1:01.292
10VAN DONINCK Brent32BEL11Team Honda Red Moto AssomotorHonda1:05.035
11DESALLE Clement25BEL10Monster Energy Kawasaki RacingKawasaki1:09.755
12PETROV Petar152BUL9Team VRT Nordpesca HollandKTM1:21.265
13CAIROLI Antonio222ITA8Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM1:22.425
14BOBRYSHEV Evgeny777RUS7PAR Homes RFX HusqvarnaHusqvarna1:28.324
15GUILLOD Valentin92SWI6Standing Construct KTMKTM1:49.638
16LEOK Tanel7EST5A1M HusqvarnaHusqvarna1:53.116
17CERVELLIN Michele747ITA4SDMCORSE YamahaYamaha2:17.905
18KOCH Tom226GER3KTM SarholzKTM1 Lap
19WALSH Dylan53NZL2JM Honda RacingHonda1 Lap
20RANNIKKO Rene191FIN1A1M HusqvarnaHusqvarna1 Lap


1GAJSER Tim243SLO25Team HRC – MXGPHonda36:21.474
2FEBVRE Romain3FRA22Monster Energy Kawasaki RacingKawasaki0:12.666
3SEEWER Jeremy91SWI20Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha0:13.976
4PRADO GARCIA Jorge61SPA18Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM0:29.157
5PAULIN Gautier21FRA16Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha0:32.265
6CAIROLI Antonio222ITA15Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM0:38.527
7BOGERS Brian189NDL14Marchetti Racing Team KTMKTM1:14.279
8VAN DONINCK Brent32BEL13Team Honda Red Moto AssomotorHonda1:15.053
9VLAANDEREN Calvin10NDL12Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha RacingYamaha1:16.036
10VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy89BEL11Honda SR MotoblouzHonda1:47.967
11MONTICELLI Ivo128ITA10Standing Construct GasGas Factory Racing TeamGasGas1:52.693
12BOBRYSHEV Evgeny777RUS9PAR Homes RFX HusqvarnaHusqvarna2:07.121
13DESALLE Clement25BEL8Monster Energy Kawasaki RacingKawasaki2:23.801
14TIXIER Jordi911FRA7Team VHR KTM RacingKTM1 Lap
15TONUS Arnaud4SWI6Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha1 Lap
16LEOK Tanel7EST5A1M HusqvarnaHusqvarna1 Lap
17CERVELLIN Michele747ITA4SDMCORSE YamahaYamaha1 Lap
18GUILLOD Valentin92SWI3Standing Construct KTMKTM1 Lap
19STERRY Adam811GBR2JD Gunnex KTM Racing TeamKTM1 Lap
20KOCH Tom226GER1KTM SarholzKTM1 Lap


1GAJSER Tim243SLO488Team HRC – MXGPHonda
2CAIROLI Antonio222ITA440Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM
3SEEWER Jeremy91SWI429Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha
4PRADO GARCIA Jorge61SPA429Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM
5FEBVRE Romain3FRA383Monster Energy Kawasaki RacingKawasaki
6COLDENHOFF Glenn259NDL375Standing Construct GasGas Factory Racing TeamGasGas
7PAULIN Gautier21FRA352Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha
8DESALLE Clement25BEL312Monster Energy Kawasaki RacingKawasaki
9HERLINGS Jeffrey84NDL263Red Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM
10VAN HOREBEEK Jeremy89BEL248Honda SR MotoblouzHonda
11JASIKONIS Arminas27LTU248Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory RacingHusqvarna
12EVANS Mitch43AUS228Team HRC – MXGPHonda
13BOGERS Brian189NDL174Marchetti Racing Team KTMKTM
14TIXIER Jordi911FRA164Team VHR KTM RacingKTM
15VLAANDEREN Calvin10NDL163Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha RacingYamaha
16JACOBI Henry29GER134Yamaha SM Action – M.C. MiglioriYamaha
17MONTICELLI Ivo128ITA132Standing Construct GasGas Factory Racing TeamGasGas
18TONUS Arnaud4SWI91Monster Energy Yamaha Factory MXGP TeamYamaha
19LUPINO Alessandro77ITA82Gebben Van Venrooy Yamaha RacingYamaha
20CERVELLIN Michele747ITA81SDMCORSE YamahaYamaha