Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki Battle Mud Bath At Super X Opener


Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki kicked off the 2011 National Supercross Championship with a strong result in treacherous conditions at Melbourne Knights Stadium this past weekend, October 22.

Daniel McCoy

Torrential rain blasted Melbourne in the lead up to the event with the adverse weather creating havoc and turning the tight, technical track into a slippery mud bath.

The conditions were so poor that the organisers were forced to change the format of the Pro Open final to one 12 lap race.

In the Pro Open class, Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki’s Daniel McCoy took the challenge in his stride riding a measured and controlled race to finish fifth overall.

The performance was even more impressive given that McCoy has stepped up to an RM-Z450 for the Supercross Championship after campaigning an RM-Z250 during the recent motocross season.

In the Pro Lites class, Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki welcomed UK import Steven Clarke, with the likeable Englishman making an instant impact.

Clarke finished 10th in the first final, a remarkable result given that he suffered a punctured tyre during the race. In the second final he stormed home to claim fourth which was enough for sixth overall on the night.

Jay Foreman, Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki Manager was reasonably upbeat about the team’s results.

“Melbourne really turned the weather on for us tonight. Given how difficult those conditions were I am really pleased with how our riders performed. Daniel is a very smart racer with plenty of experience. He knew what he had to do tonight and rode a clever race and we came away with a good points haul. Steven was unlucky, given that he copped a puncture during that first final, a sixth overall is an outstanding result. I am confident both riders have what it takes to put their RM-Zs on the box at Wollongong.”

Round two of the Australasian Supercross Championship will take place at WIN Stadium in Wollongong next Saturday October 29.

OPEN Top 10 Results – Round 1




4. Cheyne BOYD

5. Dan MCCOY – Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki

6. Michael PHILLIPS

7. Todd WATERS


9. Daniel REARDON

10. Jake MOSS

LITES Top 10 Results – Round 1

1. Matt MOSS

2. Luke STYKE

3. Brendan HARRISON

4. Josh CACHIA

5. Dean FERRIS

6. Steven CLARKE – Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki

7. Adam MONEA

8. Kirk GIBBS

9. Robbie MARSHALL

10. Casey TURNER – Suzuki

OPEN – Top 10 Championship Standings

1. Tye SIMMONDS: 25

2. Billy MACKENZIE: 22

3. Ryan MARMONT: 20

4. Cheyne BOYD: 18

5. Dan MCCOY: 16

6. Michael PHILLIPS: 15

7. Todd WATERS: 14

8. Jay MARMONT: 13

9. Daniel REARDON: 11

10. Jake MOSS: 12

LITES – Top 10 Championship Standings

1. Matt MOSS: 25

2. Luke STYKE: 22

3. Brendan HARRISON: 20

4. Josh CACHIA: 18

5. Dean FERRIS: 16

6. Steven CLARKE: 15

7. Adam MONEA: 14

8. Kirk GIBBS: 13

9. Robbie MARSHALL: 12

10. Casey TURNER: 11