ferris 1



Australians have a pretty good history of performances and creating milestones on Yamahas. Let’s have a look at a selection of the stand-out moments both here and across the globe where an Aussie did the bizz on blue.

  • Stephen Gall wins four Mr Motocross titles. Nobody had done that before and only the great Anthony Gunter stopped it from being four in a row.
  • Craig Dack wins four Mr Motocross titles in a row. Dacka dominated from 1986 to 1990 and while there was no series held in 1989 he could well have won five if there was.
  • Chad Reed wins the Anaheim Supercross in 2003 on a YZ250 and becomes the first Aussie to ever win and AMA SX main event in the premier class. He had already won the 2002 125cc East Coast Supercross Championship on a YZ250F for Yamaha of Troy.
  • Jay Marmont wins the Motocross Nationals on the 2010 YZ450F which would be his third in a row but first and only in the world that year on the new design, reverse cylinder engine.
  • Jay Marmont wins four Motocross nationals titles in a row with CDR Yamaha. The following year CDR would win again with Josh Coppins giving the legendary Kiwi his first premier class Aussie title.
  • Andrew McFarlane wins the 2004 Italian GP, sweeping both motos in an epic display.
  • Craig Anderson wins the 2003 Southwick AMA outdoor with the Yamaha of Troy team on a YZ250F
  • Dean Ferris wins the Belgium GP with a clean sweep of the day on his Monster Energy Yamaha YZ250F. This makes Ferris one of only four Aussies to win a GP and the other three guys are deadest legends in Leisky, McFarlane and Reedy.
  • Chad reed wins the 2004 AMA Supercross series. The first and still one of the greatest if not the greatest title win by an Aussie of all time.
  • Brett Metcalfe rides the last Factory two-stroke 125 for Yamaha of Troy in 2005